How to create a data function to copy and preserve contents of a column table

YB1

Hi,

I am fairly new to Spotfire data functions and I am trying to start simple.

I am running the Kmeans clustering from spotfire (tools menu). The results sometimes get changed, so I would like to copy the results after calculation by copying the values explicitely rather than creating a column that would only refer to the values. 

TBH I am strugling as I am not sure how to pass the input column (or should it be the full table) then use pandas to create and fill a new column in  same table.

I guess once I manage that I will be able to do more on my own or using existinf data functions as inspiration...

I hope some kind Spotfire guru can give me a hand here...

Thanks

Hi Gaia, thanks for answering, 

I am currently using 12.0.3. 

I have some basics of python and pandas and of course GPTs can help, but the main issue I have is interfacing with spotfire, knowing how to obtain and write columns in spotfire in a compatible way with pandas. I am sure it should be fairly simple, but I am missing the starting bricks... I did a few tries, also using AI GPTs but failed miserably so far. I am more of scientist than a software programmer, so spend no more than 10% of my time on code, which doesn't help build the comfort.

Also, I wouldn't bother if the Kmeans would not appear to get corrupted every 5 minutes, leading to having to recompute/update. This might have to do with the setup. I am using Spotfire in Schlumberger DELFI environment, with ingestion from OSDU through Dataiku... May be the Kmeans results would be more stable outside of this setup...

I do not understand what you mean by K-Means getting corrupted. Maybe, if your data changes all the time, the clusters do change, or K-Means is not the right method to capture the structure in your data?